Phi Alpha ThetaPhi Alpha Theta

Phi Alpha Theta is a nationwide history honors society with over 900 chapters and 350,000 members. Each spring the Ursinus history faculty nominate a select group of exceptional history majors in their third or fourth year of study for membership in Phi Alpha Theta. Additionally, each spring UC Phi Alpha Theta members attend and present at the regional Phi Alpha Theta conference. A new set of student officers are elected by the UC chapter annually, and graduating Phi Alpha Theta members are eligible for a small number of UC graduation awards.

Current Officers and Members
Annual Conference
History Graduation Awards

Current Officers and Members

President Julia Glauberman
Vice-President Brett Neslen
Treasurer Rose Healey
Secretary Matt Ruby

Andrea Kuhn 


Gerald Gares
Kelsey Bullington-Hodge
Christopher Goss
Ani Peckjian
Gerald Rahill
Anthony Sierzega 

Faculty Advisor Susanna Throop


PierpontAnnual Conference

Regional meetings are an essential part of Phi Alpha Theta, with about three dozen meetings held each year. They provide a forum for undergraduate and graduate students to present papers and exchange ideas, while advancing Phi Alpha Theta’s fellowship and the historical profession in general. UC members attend and present papers annually.

History Graduation Awards

Each spring four history graduation awards are announced at the Phi Alpha Theta induction ceremony.

The J. Douglas Davis Prize
Established by Ray Hamilton, ’57, the income to be awarded annually to an outstanding student in history.

The George Ditter Prize
Awarded each year to the graduating senior whose work in history and political science most promises the perpetuation of democratic self-government. The prize was established by J. William Ditter in memory of his father and is continued through the generosity of J. William Ditter Jr., ’43.

The Parsons Prize
Awarded annually to an outstanding student of American history. This prize was established by Ray Hamilton, ’57, in memory of William T. Parsons, ’47, professor of history.

The Professor Elizabeth B. White Award
Endowed by the Honorable Hermann Frederick Eilts, ’43, and awarded annually for the best essay on a subject in history.