Phi Beta Kappa

Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s oldest academic honors society. (Founded December 5, 1776)

Tau of Pennsylvania 2019 Induction Ceremony and Reception

The Tau of Pennsylvania Chapter at Ursinus College was installed as a Chapter of the Society on March 29, 1992. The annual induction ceremony will take place on Thursday, May 16, 2019 at 6 p.m. in the Kaleidoscope Performing Arts Center’s Lenfest Theater. All are welcome. 

A dinner will follow at 6:45 p.m. in the Black Box Theater, Kaleidoscope for initiates and their families.  

PBK Reception RSVP

The submission period for this form has now ended.

What is Phi Beta Kappa?

Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest and most respected academic honor society in the United States, having been established at the College of William and Mary in 1776. Membership in Phi Beta Kappa signifies excellence in one’s entire academic experience as an undergraduate. Furthermore, only a small fraction of all colleges and universities in the US possess a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa. Election of members is also limited to no more than fifteen percent of any senior class, with no more than twenty percent of these students having been elected during the junior year.

Who is eligible for nomination?

Junior students with a Grade Point Average at or above 3.75 and senior students with GPA at or above 3.50 are eligible for nomination and thus consideration for Phi Beta Kappa.

How are new members nominated and selected for induction at Ursinus?

Each year the Tau Chapter solicits nominations from faculty and staff. A committee of Chapter members then reviews student records and makes recommendations to the entire Tau Chapter as to which students it recommends for membership. The Tau Chapter considers these recommendations and additional students brought forth independently by Chapter members. This meeting results in the list of students who are offered membership in the Society by the Tau of Pennsylvania at Ursinus College.

In what activities does the Tau Chapter engage?

Along with election and initiation of new members each year, the Tau Chapter supports the John Moore Wickersham Sophomore Book Award. This award, in the form of a book and certificate, is presented at the initiation each spring to the sophomore(s) with the highest GPA after 3 semesters at Ursinus College. Occasionally, the Chapter invites Phi Beta Kappa scholars to speak at events open to the entire campus.

Class of 2018

Lisa Abraham
Benjamin Allwein
Mary Atta-Dakwa
Berett Babrich
Shani Bame
Kathryn Bormann
Helen Brabant-Bleakley
Madison Bradley
Heather Brubaker
Theodora Caputo
Anna Crowder
Sydney Dickson
Michael Esposito
Skyler Gailing
Sophia Gamber
Robin Gow
Leah Grudberg
Albert Hahn
Roseangela Hartford
Clementine Harvey
Elizabeth Hilt
Julia Hodenfield
Giselle Horrelle
Remi Janicot
Christina Jarjisian
Emily Jolly
Jordyn Karliner
Morgan Larese
Jie Lin
Rosendo Lopez-Duran
Maddie MacKenzie
Christopher Maley
Bryan Martin
Laura Maurer
Robert McNamara
Melissa Meeker
Ashley Nguyen
Sinead O’Callaghan 
Kiss, Clara  (elected as Juniors)
Warner, Solana  (elected as Juniors)

Class of 2019 (elected as Juniors)

Sarah DeFelice
Courtney DuChene
Audrey Pitcher
Serena Schaefer 

2018 Sophomore book prize winners:

Tess Beck
Kailyn Cohen
Parker Fairchild 

Resident Members

Erin Stroble, Athletics

A Curtis Allen
Bobby Fong (RIP)
Nancy Hagelgans
C. Dallett Hemphill (RIP)
Richard King  (RIP)
Joyce Lionarons
Ellen Matthews
David Mill
Patricia Schroeder 
Martha Takats
John Moore Wickersham