Sycamore Award

This award is presented annually in the spring semester to any student, staff, faculty,  community member or organization that has demonstrated excellence in bringing people together in a spirit of learning, unity, understanding, and cooperation.

The recipients of the 2023 Sycamore Community Engagement Awards are:

Maia Peele ’23, (Anthropology, Sociology)
Steve Gehringer, Director of Facilities
Giovanna Steyaert, Visiting Assistant Professor of Modern Languages
Catherine Kernen, President, Collegeville Borough Council

The 2023 Inclusion and Equity Awards were presented on Wednesday, March 15, at the DICE Awards event at the Berman Museum.

The Ursinus Sycamore Community Engagement Award recipient recognizes the interconnectedness between the campus and the surrounding community, and acknowledges that the campus is as much a laboratory for learning as the community is for building knowledge.

Through much of Ursinus history, a mighty Sycamore Tree stood at the location of the current Patterson Field. Determined to be 200-250 years old at its falling, the tree came to symbolize the lasting strength of the college and the longevity of its traditions.

Award Criteria

This award will be presented to students, staff, faculty, community members or organizations  embodying the goals of the award as articulated above, and for whom the following is also true:

Commitment to Identifying and Addressing Community Needs – the award recipient will be a change agent, seeking solutions to questions or concerns that impact Ursinus and the surrounding local community, and inspiring others to do the same.

Collaboration and Connection with Ursinus College – the award recipient engages in a mutually beneficial relationship with the college through events, activities, or time dedicated to addressing identified campus or community concerns/questions.

Building Bridges of Learning – the award recipient brings awareness about organizations, cultures, and systems to the campus and surrounding local communities, which further fosters civic engagement and volunteering.

All faculty, staff, students and community members/partners of Ursinus College are eligible to submit nominations.

All current faculty, staff, students, and community members/partners are eligible to receive the award, with the exception of previous recipients.

To Nominate
When open, nominations are accepted via the official nomination form posted to this page.

The Ursinus Sycamore Community Engagement Awards are administered by the Division of Inclusion and Community Engagement.

Nominations for the 2023 Sycamore Award have closed.