HomepageHistoryHistory honor society inductions and inaugural C. Dallett Hemphill Prize

History honor society inductions and inaugural C. Dallett Hemphill Prize

At the History Department’s annual awards dinner on Thursday, April 21, seventeen students were inducted into Phi Alpha Theta, the national history honor society, and six seniors were recognized with graduation prizes, including the inaugural C. Dallett Hemphill Prize.

As usual, the History Phi Alpha Theta/Awards Dinner was a convivial celebration. Faculty, students, and members of Dallett Hemphill’s family came together to eat, drink, and recognize our students’ hard work and achievements and remember Professor Hemphill’s legacy.

In addition to consuming heroic quantities of Indian food, attendees applauded the induction of seventeen students into the Alpha Gamma Phi Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta: 

  • Jordan Allie, ’16
  • Kirsten Biehl, ’17
  • Zachary Fisher, ’17
  • Axel González, ’16
  • Michael Hoffman, ’16
  • Max Jens, ’17
  • Breanna Knisely-Durham, ’17
  • Chukyi Kyaping, ’16
  • Morgan Larese, ’18
  • Skyler McCormick, ’16
  • Marcella McGill, ’17
  • Jake Nop, ’18
  • Anthony Pond, ’17
  • Elijah Sloat, ’18
  • Bridget Winters, ’17
  • Rachel Zane, ’17
  • Zhehui Zhu, ’16

Among these outstanding students, we recognized six seniors for distinguishing themselves through their scholarship and citizenship:

  • Katherine Faust, J. Douglas Davis Prize
  • Axel González, (inaugural) C. Dallett Hemphill Prize
  • Michael Hoffman, William T. Parsons Prize
  • Chukyi Kyaping, Elizabeth B. White Prize
  • Edward Malandro, (inaugural) Floyd E. Heller Prize
  • Zhehui Zhu, George Ditter Prize

Quick Links

News Home