Distinguished Honors for Alumni, Graduating Students

Four Ursinus alumni and two graduating students will be recognized for their academic and professional accomplishments, humanitarian efforts and exemplary loyalty to Ursinus during alumni weekend.

The annual award winners will be honored during a ceremony Saturday, April 21 at 3 p.m. in Bomberger Auditorium. The award winners are:

Kara Raiguel ’94, Alumni Award for Professional Achievement

This award recognizes an individual who has reached significant professional achievements through exemplary leadership. Raiguel serves as president and chief executive officer at General Reinsurance Corporation, a direct reinsurer and subsidiary of Berkshire Hathaway, Inc. Prior to assuming her present role in 2016, Raiguel worked with Berkshire Hathaway’s Reinsurance Division for 15 years. She also worked with CIGNA Property & Casualty. She earned her bachelor’s degree from Ursinus, with a major in mathematics and minors in French and economics. As a student, she was a two-sport athlete, a part of Tau Sigma Gamma and was inducted into Omicron Delta Epsilon, the economics honor society.

Winnifred Berg Cutler ’73, Alumni Award for Service to Humanity

Recognizing outstanding service to society, this award pays tribute for time volunteered for the benefit of a community or nonprofit institutions. Cutler may be best known for her discovery of human pheromones, as well as her more recent research, which has contributed to the international debate over routine prophylactic mammography. She regularly collaborates with Ursinus faculty and staff on research and learning opportunities for students. Cutler founded the Athena Institute and regularly recruits interns, and, in 2007, formally launched the Athena Institute Pre-Med Hospice Volunteer Program, which enables area pre-medical students to volunteer their service to local hospice patients. She has supported the Ursinus psychology department, U-Imagine Center for Integrative and Entrepreneurial Studies and the Berman Museum Student Art Show.

Harriet Gould Metzgar ’68, Henry P. and M. Page Laughlin Educator Award

This award recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions in the field of education and is named for Henry P. and M. Page Laughlin for their commitment to education and Ursinus College. Gould has devoted her life to educating others. She was elementary principal and K-12 curriculum director for the Raymond Central Schools in Nebraska for 18 years. In this role, she developed programs that led to its designation as a “Blue Ribbon School of Excellence” by the U.S. Department of Education. She and her husband, Jack Metzgar ’66 own and operate the Pine Crest Farms Bed & Breakfast in Valparaiso, Neb. She is currently president of the Raymond Central Board of Education, and has held leadership roles with the University of Nebraska’s chapter of Phi Delta Kappa, the Nebraska Association of Elementary School Principals and the Nebraska Association of Bed and Breakfasts.

Kelly Becker ’10, The Rising Star Alumni Award

Presented to an accomplished graduate of the past 10 years for significant contributions to and leadership in the recipient’s profession, community and/or Ursinus College, Becker  has been leading the innovation partnerships division at Under Armour since 2014. In this role, she helps identify burgeoning ideas that are influencing her industry. At Ursinus, Becker was a member of the field hockey team, participated in study abroad and the Celebration of Student Achievement (CoSA). She also worked in the admissions office and the president’s office. Becker has remained connected to Ursinus as a member of the outreach committee for the GOLD Council and is a loyal philanthropic supporter of the college. 

Allison Cook ’18 and Christopher Tan ’18, Senior Alumni Award

This award recognizes two seniors who show promise of making significant contributions to and exemplary leadership in their careers, their community and/or Ursinus College. 

Cook will receive her bachelor’s degree in environmental studies this spring. During her time at Ursinus, she has excelled academically and devoted much of her time to conceptualizing, developing and advancing sustainability initiatives on campus. She is involved in women’s basketball, study abroad, externships and the ultimate Frisbee team and serves as president of Ursinus College Environmental Action (UCEA), a student organization that helps to organize environmental initiatives. She is a Sustainability Fellow and says she would like to start her own CSA farm aimed at providing sustainable, organic vegetables to the community. 

Tan will earn bachelor’s degrees in applied economics and international relations. He has been lauded for his academic and extracurricular involvements, including through the finance scholars program, National Model U.N., is captain of the wrestling team and executive vice president for Ursinus College Student Government. Tan is a member of the Cub & Key Society, Alpha Pi Sigma National Political Science Honor Society and the Omega Delta Epsilon International Economics Honor Society. He and his peers were awarded the grand prize of the 2016 Rochester University Simon Business School’s Early Learners Case Competition and he received first place in the 2017 Richard T. Schellhase ’45 Ethics Prize competition. After graduating from Ursinus, Tan plans to pursue a career in the financial services industry, and he will begin work at The Vanguard Group.

Nominations for the awards are solicited from alumni, students, faculty and staff and are reviewed by a selection committee. Current members of the college’s Board of Trustees, alumni awards selection committee and current employees of the college are not eligible to receive the awards.