Faculty and Staff

Ursinus Honors Faculty and Staff at First Service Recognition Luncheon

Those celebrating milestone anniversaries at the college gathered for a private event on Monday, December 17, at the Berman Museum of Art.

The first luncheon of its kind, President Brock Blomberg honored those who have served five, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 and 35 years at the college. This year, two new additions to the 25-year club, Del Engstrom and Carolyn Weigel, were specially recognized by Dean Mark Schneider and Chief Information Officer (library/IT) Gene Spencer, respectively.

Del is professor and chair of the Department of Health and Exercise Physiology. He came to Ursinus in 1993, supervising student teachers and coaching men’s tennis. Del has also taught math, chaired two academic departments, served on numerous committees and chaired the committee that re-wrote the faculty handbook, and taught CIE for more than 12 years, including the initial cohort. The opportunity to teach CIE stands out to Del as a highlight of being at Ursinus. He notes how few of his colleagues at other institutions have the opportunity to teach a course like CIE and that it has enriched his own experience. His commitment to the exploration of intellect and experience makes him a quintessential Ursinus Bear. In 2017, Del was recognized as the recipient of the Laughlin Distinguished Teaching Award.

Carolyn’s face is a familiar one to everyone in the Ursinus community. As college archivist, she engages daily with students, faculty and staff, as well as the local community and, occasionally, an international audience. She provides important elements for many of the college’s activities, such as Bears Make History, MLK Week and the Ursinus 150 anniversary planning committee. Carolyn started cataloging in Myrin Library in 1993 and became caretaker of the college archives in 1994. In 2000, after completing Temple’s Post Graduate Archival Studies Program and an internship at the Swarthmore College Archives, she earned certification from the Academy of Certified Archivists and became Ursinus’s college archivist. We are grateful to Carolyn for her constant diligence and care in doing work that is instrumental to the collective memory of the college.

Others honored were:

35 years: Barbara Boris and Gerard Fitzpatrick.

30 years: Margie Connor, Carol Dole, Andy Economopoulos, Stew Goetz and Jan Levengood.

20 years: Steve Gehringer, Rebecca Jaroff, Carol McMillin, Ray Stitt and Kathy Wright.

15 years: Holly Hubbs, Matthew Kozusko, Susan Masciantonio, Rob Quigley, Carol Royce, Chris Wilcox and Louise Woodstock.

10 years: Deborah Barkun, Amy Brink, Anthony Bruno, Jonathan Clark, Katharine Davis, Dominique de Saint Etienne, Patrick Hurley, Pete Smith and Cory Straub.

5 years: Talia Argondezzi, Diane Amoroso-O’Connor, Mary Bagnell, John Bortulin, Sam Campo, Maureen Cawley, Ellen Curcio, Jacqui D’Ercole, April Carpenter, Jennifer Fleeger, Xandy Frisch, Lisa Grossbauer, Abigail Kluchin, Jose Maria Lopez Bejarano, Jason Lupold, Anna Marks, Brent Mattingly, Ed Onaci, Jessica Parrillo, Jennifer Round, Jackie Sierzega and Barb Tyson.