Faculty and Staff

Celebration of Faculty & Student Scholarship, Creativity and Achievement

The Ursinus community gathered in the Berman Museum to celebrate the creative accomplishments of faculty and students.

In addition to enjoying the impressive works of the Annual Student Exhibition, student honors papers, faculty publications, and faculty grants were on display and the all-campus Commencement Awards were announced.

Several published books and dozens of academic articles were displayed alongside more than 30 honors research papers written by students. Interested guests could flip through, read and discuss the work of their peers during the event, a culmination of the work completed throughout the academic year.

Peter Jessup, professor emeritus of mathematics and computer science and the first Joseph T. Beardwood III Chair of Mathematics, shared the history of the “Beardwood toast,” a tradition at Ursinus during the annual celebration of publications event.

Beardwood, whose generosity is also reflected in the name of one of the first-year dormitories and the Beardwood Chemical Society, was a member of the Ursinus Board of Trustees whose family was active at Ursinus for several generations. He was instrumental in acquiring funding in order to connect Ursinus and Dartmouth, and that funding paved the way for Ursinus’s computer science program and major, launching Ursinus into the digital age.

Jessup explained how he convinced the administration and Joe Beardwood convinced the Board of Trustees to fund the project that put us “about 10 years ahead of computing”at many of our peers.

After Beardwood’s death in 1985, he left money to set up a chair in Mathematics. Jessup was named the first Beardwood chair in 1986 and after a champagne toast in Joe’s memory, it was established that the annual publication party would also serve as the perfect platform to serve the annual Beardwood toast.

Following the toast, Debbie Nolan, vice president of student affairs and dean of students, presented all-campus commencement awards to students who had notable academic accomplishments. Award winners were:

The Laughlin Award: Gabby Manto’19 

Endowed by Henry P. Laughlin ’38, and his wife, M. Page Durkee Laughlin, for the student who has made outstanding contributions to the senior class and to the college.


The Teresa L. Urban Leadership Award:  Elizabeth Iobst’19

Awarded annually by the USGA to a senior in recognition for outstanding leadership.


The Sidney L. Wagman Prize:  Indira Joell’19

Awarded annually in memory of Sidney Louis Wagman ’51 to an outstanding and deserving student who has demonstrated loyalty to high ideals. The fund was established by his parents, Mr. and Mrs. Morris Wagman, and his brother, Sheldon P. Wagman ’59.


The Dr. Frederick M. Binder Award:  Jordan Carver’19

Established to honor the memory of Frederick M. Binder ’42, whose long and distinguished career exemplified Ursinus College at its very best. Awarded to a graduating senior who, in the judgment of the faculty, offers greatest promise of high academic and professional achievement.


The Thomas P. and Frances T. Glassmoyer Scholastic Award:  Sarah DeFelice’19 & Noaln Murt’19

Endowed in 1980 by Thomas P. Glassmoyer ’36 and Frances Thierolf Glassmoyer ’40, and awarded annually to the member of the graduating class with the highest scholastic average for four years at Ursinus.


The Robin Blood Harris ’56 Memorial Prize:  Joanna Timmermann’19

Established by her family and friends for the senior woman who exemplifies those outstanding qualities of leadership and scholarship that characterized Robin’s association with Ursinus.