HomepageNewsUrsinus Honors First Inclusion and Equity Award Winners

Ursinus Honors First Inclusion and Equity Award Winners

Carlita Favero, an associate professor of biology; Ashley Henderson, assistant director of the Institute for Inclusion and Equity; and Cody Yhap ’20 were recognized during MLK Week for efforts to go above and beyond in their commitment to promoting Inclusion and Equity at Ursinus.

The inaugural awards were first announced in November 2019 as part of the college’s commitment to growing an inclusive community. The MLK Week committee selected the winners from a pool of candidates nominated by faculty, staff and students.

Additionally, on Thursday, January 23, the annual recipients of the college’s Inclusive Community Grants and Fellowships were announced. Associate Professor of Modern Languages Xochitl Estrada Shuru is the Inclusive Community Fellow for 2019-20. Grant projects include: a proposal to by the Society of Physics Students to bring inclusivity to naming for solar system features; Recharge, a program offering study time for students of color through the Institutes for Inclusion and Equity and the Institute for Student Success; a faculty and staff learning and book share program; and a student-driven program that aims to bring awareness of how immigration issues impact families at Ursinus and in the neighboring communities.

One Book One Ursinus continues this semester with Pachinko by Min Jin Lee, this year’s commencement speaker. Students, faculty and staff can sign up and get a complimentary copy in the IIE, Myrin Library and UCARE. –By Monique Kelly

News Home