Rev. Charles Rice Memorial Scholarships

Ursinus College awards the Rev. Charles Rice Memorial Scholarship to selected applicants who have meaningfully impacted issues of diversity and inclusion in their schools and/or communities, and who have achieved success in a rigorous high school curriculum.


Rev. Charles Rice served as a chaplain at Ursinus College from the summer of 1997 to April 2017. He was an active member in our college community, serving the pastoral needs of the college community, overseeing the chaplaincy program and advising and counseling students. Beloved by many, Rev. Charles Rice demonstrated a strong sense of moral consciousness and always challenged students to be their best selves.

After losing Rev. Charles Rice, Ursinus College has established the Rev. Charles Rice Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship aims to reward forward-thinking and morally conscious students who reflect Rev. Rice’s character and share his passion for issues of social justice, racial justice, equity, and faith.

Students who are selected for the scholarship will receive awards of $35,000 per academic year.


The Rev. Rice Memorial Scholarship is awarded to students who have meaningfully impacted issues of diversity, inclusion, and access in their high school and/or community.

Students must demonstrate a strong consistent interest and participation in their high school/community through social responsibilities, engagement, and services. This participation must uphold the values of inclusion, equity, access, and community.

All students who have applied to the college are automatically considered for eligibility during the application review process. However, if you would like to nominate yourself as a strong candidate, please submit this brief form. School counselors can also nominate strong candidates from their school by completing this form.

The nomination deadline for Early Action (EA) and Early Decision (ED 1) applicants is November 1.

The nomination deadline for Regular Decision (RD) and Early Decision (ED 2) applicants is February 1.